Connect with us


Highest Goal Scorers in FIFA World Cup History (At least six)


FIFA World Cup 2022, Earth’s biggest show has just finished. Finally, the world has another champion (Argentina) for the next four years. Lionel Messi, The goat, achieved his first Fifa World Cup.

Since the tournament’s beginning in 1930, many top strikers have showcased their goal-scoring skills in FIFA World Cup.

Since then, more than 2,000 goals have been scored in 21 FIFA World Cups, with over 1,200 goal scorers including legends like Pele, Ronaldo Nazario, Miroslav Klose, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Lionel Messi.

The first goal scorer in world cup history was French player Lucien Laurent.

Miroslav Klose scored the most goals in the FIFA World Cup. He played 24 matches in four tournaments and scored 16 goals, making him the top goalscorer in world cup history.

He scored his first three goals in his World Cup debut against Saudi Arabia in Germany’s opening group game at the 2002 World Cup. Then, in the 2014 World Cup semifinal between Germany and Brazil, he scored his final 16th which was the most historic goal for him and Germany.

Ronaldo, Brazil’s 2002 World Cup-winning star, was the top goal scorer before Klose. He had scored 15 goals in just 19 matches across three World Cups. He scored four goals in his debut world cup in 1998.

Gerd Muller of Germany scored 14 goals in two tournaments. In the 1970 FIFA World Cup, the German legend became only the second player in history to score back-to-back hat-tricks.

Meanwhile, France’s Just Fontaine owns the record for a top goal scorer in a single World Cup edition, with 13 goals in just six matches. He was also the tournament’s first player to score back-to-back hat tricks.

Pele is fifth all-time in the World Cup goalscorers list with 12 and is the second highest-placed Brazilian after Ronaldo. He scored 12 goals in 14 matches in world cup history.

Among active players, Lionel Messi is the top goalscorer in the FIFA World Cup, scoring 13 goals. Also, french’s player Kylian Mbappé scored 12 goals in 14 matches.

Here is the list of top goal scorers in FIFA world cup history.

1Miroslav Klose Germany24160
2Ronaldo Brazil19151
3Gerd Müller Germany13141
4Just Fontaine France6130
Lionel Messi * Argentina26134
6Kylian Mbappé * France14122
Pelé Brazil14120
8Jürgen Klinsmann Germany17110
Sándor Kocsis Hungary5110
10Gabriel Batistuta Argentina12104
Teófilo Cubillas Peru13102
Grzegorz Lato Poland20100
Gary Lineker England12102
Thomas Müller * Germany19101
Helmut Rahn Germany10100
16Ademir Brazil690
Roberto Baggio Italy1692
David Villa Spain1292
Eusébio Portugal694
Jairzinho Brazil1690
Paolo Rossi Italy1490
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany1990
Uwe Seeler Germany2190
Vavá Brazil1090
Christian Vieri Italy990
26Cristiano Ronaldo * Portugal2283
Harry Kane * England1184
Léônidas Brazil580
Diego Maradona Argentina2180
Oscar Míguez Uruguay780
Neymar * Brazil1382
Rivaldo Brazil1481
Guillermo Stábile Argentina480
Rudi Völler Germany1580
35Careca Brazil971
Oldřich Nejedlý CSSR671
Johnny Rep Netherlands1470
Hans Schäfer Germany1570
Luis Suárez * Uruguay1670
Andrzej Szarmach Poland1370
Lajos Tichý Hungary870
42Bebeto Brazil1560
Dennis Bergkamp Netherlands1260
Zbigniew Boniek Poland1660
Diego Forlán Uruguay1061
Asamoah Gyan Ghana1162
Helmut Haller Germany961
Thierry Henry France1760
Josef Hügi Switzerland360
Mario Kempes Argentina1860
* Active player



Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Discover more from RankingRoyals

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading