Connect with us


Most Number of FIFA World Cup Wins by a Team

World Cup

Football is the most popular sport in the world. The FIFA World Cup was founded in 1930. Since then, the FIFA world cup is held once every 4 years.

It’s a great tournament to identify and reward the best football-playing nation. 21 world cups have been held to date. Let’s take a look at the countries that have won the FIFA world cup the maximum number of times.

1. Brazil


Brazil has the highest number of FIFA world cup trophies. They have won the tournament 5 times to date. Brazil is the only team that participated in all 21 world cups. Brazil has won its first world cup in 1958. They have won their next three titles in 1962, 1970, 1994. Brazil won their last world cup in 2002 by beating Germany in the grand finale.

In 1958, Brazil played Sweden in the final and won with a score of 5–2. This was Brazil’s first world cup win. Brazil went on to win the next world cup as well 4 years later in 1962. They won their 2nd world cup by beating Czechoslovakia with a score of 3-1. Brazil’s next world cup win came in 1970. Brazil scored 4-1 against Italy to win their third world cup. Brazil had to wait for 24 years to win their next world cup. They beat Italy again in the final in 1994 by winning the game 3-2 on penalties after the score was 0-0 in the initial 120 minutes. Brazil’s last world cup win came in 2002. They beat Germany 2-0 in the final to win the world cup for the 5th time.

Brazil has made a total of 7 appearances in the world cup finals. They have won five times out of the seven times they played the world cup final. They lost the final to Uruguay in 1950 with a score of 2-1. In 1998, Brazil lost their 2nd world cup to France with a score of 3-0. Brazil would have been a seven-time world champion if they won those finals. But despite losing in two finals, Brazil has clear dominance in football. They are the first and only team to have five world cup wins.

2. Germany


Germany is one of the best teams to have ever played football. The European country has won 4 world cups to date. Germany has participated in the FIFA World Cup 19 times. They have won the FIFA World Cup in the years 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014.

Germany won their first world cup in 1954 by beating Hungary with a score of 3-2. Germany had to wait for another 20 years for their next world cup win. Germany won their 2nd world cup by scoring 2–1 against the Netherlands. 16 years later, Germany won their 3rd world cup by beating Argentina with a score of 1-0. 24 years later, Germany won their 4th and last world cup by beating the same opponent with the same score. Germany defeated Argentina with a score of 1-0 in FIFA World Cup 2018 to win their 4th World Cup.

Germany has played in the FIFA world cup finals 8 times. They have won the finals 4 times and lost 4 times. Germany’s first world cup loss came in 1966 when they lost to England with a score of 4-2. Germany lost their 2nd world cup final in 1982 to Italy with a score of 3-1. Germany had to face a world cup final defeat in the very next world Cup by losing to Argentina. Argentina won the World Cup by beating Germany 3-2. Germany lost their 4th world cup final to Brazil in 2002.

3. Italy


Italy and Germany are tied with four world cup win each. We put Germany in the 2nd position as they played more finals than Germany. Italy has participated in 18 of the 21 FIFA world cups. They are one of the best football-playing nations in the world. Italy won its world cups in the years 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006.

In 1934, Italy won their first world cup by beating Czechoslovakia with a score of 2-1. Italy also won the very next world cup tournament by defeating Hungary 4-2. Italy had to win a long time for their next world cup win. In 1982, Italy won their 3rd world cup by defeating Germany. Italy scored 3-1 against Germany and won the tournament. Italy won their last world cup in 2006. Italy beat France to win their 4th world cup. The match was tied at 1-1 and Italy went on to beat France by scoring 5-3 on the penalties.

Italy has lost the World Cup Final only twice out of their six appearances. Italy’s first world cup final loss was against Brazil in 1970. In 1994, Italy lost to Brazil again in the world cup final.

Other Teams

Brazil, Germany, and Italy have separated themselves from the other teams. These 3 teams have won 13 out of the 21 World Cup trophies. No other teams come close to them in terms of such great performance.

2-Time FIFA World Cup Champions

Uruguay, Argentina, and France are the next best teams in FIFA World Cup. Each nation has won the FIFA World Cup twice. Uruguay won the very first FIFA World cup held in 1930. Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 in the finals to win the world cup. Uruguay won their 2nd world cup in 1950 by beating Brazil with a score of 2-1.

Argentina won their first world cup in 1978. Argentina beat Netherlands 3-1 to win their first world cup. Argentina’s 2nd world cup win came in 1986. They beat Germany with a score of 3-2 to win their 2nd and latest world cup to date.

France won their first world cup by defeating Brazil 3-0 in 1998. They won their 2nd title in the latest FIFA World Cup Tournament that was held in 2018. France beat Croatia with a score of 4–2 to win their 2nd world cup title.

England and Spain have also won the FIFA World Cup one time each. England won their first and only FIFA World Cup in 1996 by defeating Germany 4-2. Spain won their first world cup in 2010 by defeating the Netherlands with a score of 1-0.

FIFA World Cup Tournaments have been continued to held since 1930. In 81 years, only 8 teams have managed to get their hands on the World Cup Title. This makes the experience of winning the World Cup very special for all the teams that participate in these tournaments.

Discover more from RankingRoyals

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading